Bread – Advocate

February 17, 2016


Psalm 7

“Arise O Lord in Your anger, lift Yourself up against the fury of my enemies; awake for me; You have appointed a judgment.  Let the assembly of the peoples be gathered about You; over it return on high.”  Ps. 7:6-7

I like the word “advocate” because it is both a noun and a verb.  As the verb, I advocate (fight for, promote, argue in favor of, plead on behalf of) for myself and others.  When I advocate, I am an advocate.

Shifting to the Psalm, I have to admit that this section of the Psalm befuddled me.  I understand David calling on the Lord to rise up and defend David against the fury of David’s enemies, but why follow this immediately with the “Let the assemblies of the people be gathered…”?  How are they connected, if at all?

I was talking to someone yesterday about the Psalms and they reminded me of something that I had not locked onto – David is not only himself but he is also the king.  When he speaks of his enemies, in his role as king he is also speaking about the enemies of his kingdom.

That got me thinking about who I am as well.  David was an advocate for himself and his people.  I (and we) are advocates for ourselves, for our families, for our friends and neighbors, for our bosses and subordinates, for our businesses, for our government, for our position as leader, preacher, evangelist, prophet, manager, director, and every other office you can image.

We are not only advocates in the present for people in the present, but we are also advocates for those who come after us – our children, our grandchildren, our great grandchildren, and those who are to be born and are not yet born.

We are not only advocates in the present age for people we know, but for people we don’t know – for those who are poor and lonely, for those who have insufficient food, for those stuck in place without opportunity, for those who are in their mother’s womb and have no voice, for those enslaved, for those unjustly accused, for the saints in general.

Think it.  As we stand before God, there is a train of beneficiaries which flow behind us and for whom we may there only advocate.  We may be the only one who cares.

When David asks God to destroy his enemies, we sort of say to ourselves that he is probably overreacting, that the situation is not as important as David is making it out to be.  However, when we rise up and realize the thousands of people who are in the wake of David’s prayer, who are also confronted by the same enemies, then the prayer takes on a much more serious tone and the necessity of God rising up and taking over becomes much more necessary and more urgent.

How much more urgently would we pray for God to take over and rise up if we realized that our enemies who would destroy us would also destroy the generations which follow, the people who we are put on earth to defend, to protect, to love, and to advocate for?

How much more would we plead for God’s intervention if we realized that, when we ask for ourselves, we also ask for who we advocate for?

How much more would we plead for God’s holy power to descend with might upon us and our situation if we really were advocates for others, for our spouse, our children, our children yet to be, and for all generations to follow?

As I write this, I am acutely aware of how I have failed to fully appreciate my job as a Christian, of how I have wasted my opportunities to sit before the Creator and make my case for my people, of how I have prayed weakly because I have not stood for those who God has placed within my reach.

But the failure yesterday and the failure today does not require the failure tomorrow.  David advocated for himself and his people.  I can do no less.  Can you?

_________

© 2016 GBF   All Scripture quotations are from the English Standard Version (2001), unless otherwise indicated.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

